31st Annual Cheer Competition

November 15, 2017

Branded by Color, United by Cheer, We are Detroit PAL!

The 31st annual Detroit PAL Cheer Competition took place on October 22 at Calihan Hall at the University of Detroit – Mercy. More than 1,000 girls participate in the PAL Cheer Program, ranging from 5-14 years old.

The day got started with an opening ceremony from Terry Hopkin, PAL’s Cheer Commissioner, and Tim Richey, Detroit PAL CEO. After the singing of the National Anthem, the Baby Jammers took the floor to show off the skills they learned this year!

Following the Baby Jammers performance was the D-Team Competition and Exhibition performances. Afterwards, the Jam Squad dazzled the crowd with a Unity Performance and Dr. Darrius of WJLB stopped by to encourage everyone to join the Detroit PAL Alumni Association. The Competitions for the C-Team, B-Team, and A-Team followed.

Great job to all of our cheerleaders on a great season and wonderful performances!


Congratulations to our winners:

A Team
Level 1 Winner – Motor City Bears
Level 2 Winner – Detroit Spartans
Level 3 Winner – West Side Cubs
B Team
Level 1 Winner – Eastside Falcons
Level 2 Winner – West 7 Rams
Level 3 Winner – West Side Cubs
Level 1 – Eastside Falcons
Level 2 – Detroit Spartans
Level 3 – West Side Cubs
Detroit Spartans
Congratulations go out to all of PAL’s Cheerleader of the Year At-large Award Winners: Savanna Davis, Trenasia Bingham, Ronasha Payne, Antrice Marshall, Amari Hassan, Shania Wiley, Eunique Robinson, Riley Winston, KaMariah Allen, Jaila Jones, Alana Harris, Daishauna Petty, Jakyra Bonner, Kendall Jones, Neveah Jones-Carter, KeAnna Perry, Malia Orr, and JaKyrah Farley.
Coach of the Year Award Winners: LaTori Coleman, Kyra Jones, Timika Brown, Kristine Elmore, Letta Knight-Jackson, Ashley Fountain, Sabrina Glass, Victoria Joyner, Bianca Smartt, Christina Davis, Taryn Wheeler, Tyesha Fulton, April Sullivan, Chelsea Walker, Shantel Morris, Narissa Robinson, Jalena Grandberry, and Aundrea Farris.
Jr. Coach of the Year Award Winners: Nailah Henderson, DaeJanique Melchor, Taniya Fountain, Abrina Canty, Jalyn Bailey, Denajia Pippion, Artishia Moore, Jaliah Haygood, Sade Jones, and Zhyaira Smith.
Congratulations everyone on a great season!